THE LEAST OF THESE

Soup Kitchen

 “Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see You hungry and feed You, or thirsty and give You something to drink? When did we see You a stranger and invite You in, or needing clothes and clothe You? When did we see You sick or in prison and go to visit You?’  “The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of Mine, you did for Me.’”  Matthew 25:37-39

I lead a Bible study and weight management program called First Place 4 Health at our church. The program is based on placing Christ first in our lives and enhancing spiritual growth in all four areas of our being: mental, physical, emotional and spiritual. I was skeptical at first. I had participated in several other weight loss programs, and I longed for something more meaningful than just eating sensibly, exercising and tracking my food intake. But the idea that Christ cared much whether I was at my optimal weight and ate enough vegetables to feed a third world country? I wasn’t buying it.

Then, I read the passage in Matthew 25, where Jesus tells his disciples that he had been hungry, thirsty, lonely and ill, and they (the disciples) had come to His aid. The disciples said they didn’t remember doing these things. But Christ said, “Whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of Mine, you did for Me.” And then it hit me: I am “one of the least of these!” When I take good care of my body—God’s “temple”—I am taking care of Christ Himself! It’s not a matter of vanity. When I eat right, stay active and focus on God’s holy word, I grow closer to becoming the person He wants me to be.  I serve God and my fellow human beings more effectively when I am operating at optimal level. Now that’s a diet I can live with!

God of the hungry and poor of spirit, stir in me the desire to live only for You, and to serve only You. Grant that I may keep that focus until the day You call me home, so that you will one day say, “Well done, good and faithful servant” (Matthew 25:21).

Leave a comment