SIX DOLLARS

Six DollareBy Elizabeth Sullivan,

Founder/CEO at EmpowerSurvivors-Adult Survivors of Childhood Sexual Abuse-Nonprofit

 

April is Child Abuse Prevention and Sexual Assault Prevention Month. Thank you to my friend and fellow survivor, Elizabeth Sullivan for her guest entry this week.

 

And our hope for you is firm, because we know that just as you share in our sufferings, so also you share in our comfort. 2 Corinthians 1:7

 

This afternoon I stopped at the store on my way home and when I was coming out and got into my car, I noticed a man coming up to my window. I have to admit I was a tad nervous because he had a determined look on his face and I wasn’t sure what he was going to do. Being that I tend to go worse-case scenario I thought here goes, I’m going to get car jacked, mugged, raped or something else.

 

Needless to say it was none of those things. Instead it was a kind man that had seen the EmpowerSurvivors signs on my car, looked up our website, and said he was moved to give a donation.

In talking to him we both got teary eyed. Although he did not divulge any private information, I could feel that connection of a wounded warrior. Sometimes when you meet a fellow survivor of childhood sexual abuse you just know. You see it in their movements, the way the eyes sit in conversation and the way their heart shows in their words. I could see the tears being held back on his part and felt tears welling up in my own eyes as he spoke.

 

As he walked away, he gave me $6.00. On one of the bills he wrote to keep fighting for those who have no words, to be the truth no one else wants to see, and to keep the faith now and forever. I left our interaction feeling reflective and joyful. Reflective because I know where I’ve been and where so many have been and how now we are finally putting words to the unspeakable. Joyful because the tides are changing, and human connections are happening where they may have never happened before.

 

Funny how chance meetings can happen and how big of an impact they can make.  It was a nice moment. A moment that touched my heart and made me feel good for continuing the work I’ve been doing. Sometimes this work is painful, tiring to say the least. But so worth it.

 

Father of Peace and Power, strengthen us in the difficult task of comforting those who, like us, have been abused. Amen

For more information about EmpowerSurvivors, see the links below:

#EmpowerSurvivors
www.EmpowerSurvivors.net

Leave a comment